Posted by & filed under News.

by Steve Allspach

Cherokee’s Adam Timmerman, Emmetsburg’s Bruce Nelson and West Lyon’s Kyle Vanden Bosch will be inducted into the Iowa High School Football Hall of Fame during the upcoming playoffs in the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls.

On the coaching side. Three with close personal ties will be involved.

Former Sioux City West Coach Ken Winkler will receive the Bernie Saggau Award and Pat Mitchell of Cedar Falls will receive the Walt Fiegel Award, named after the late Sioux City East coach.

Winkler, Mitchell and Fiegel were close friends on an off the football field and all three have been movers and shakers in the Iowa Football Coaches Association.

Winkler also coached state championship teams at Treynor and State Center West Marshall and Fiegel’s 1984 team won the 4A title.